The Game of Risk

     Even as I write this, there are so many draft posts I have along the side, but I can honestly tell you in the very very short time I’ve had this blog- I absolutely love it! I love writing ideas out, topics I’m thinking of, lessons God is teaching me- about himself or others, ways to inspire and create. 

    Often times I love reading other blogs to get ideas- I know I’m not the best blogger out there, or even the most unique (I realize there are about 101 million blogs about homemaking on the market) but I do love what I do.  I love hearing other peoples thoughts on the home, getting their perspective and ”oohing” and “‘ ahhing” over their DIY ideas. Its encouraging to see so many creative people in the virtual world. 
                                 

      
                      I could spend hours on Pinterest and blogs looking at fantastic ideas 

 

       Like them,  I love creating. Thinking out of the box- creating gifts, or decor for the home, anything— poetry, letters, stories, journaling, painting, scrapbooks, collages, art’n crafts etc.  I love using scripture or sermons to inspire pictures, or events to inspire poetry. I believe that as we were so creatively designed we were made to be creative designers.
      Yet, there is a lot I don’t know about being creative or being creative for other people, or what it takes to use that creativity to make revenue. The last couple of months have  been stretching for my boyfriend and I. We have so many ideas and dreams but often don’t know how to “get there”. I want to expained my cleaning “business” to include training, homemaking, selling DIY products and selling crafts. He is wanting to pursue some occupations that are ” out of the box” and pursue writing projects. It’s all very exciting, and adventous and not a little intimidating, and ….it all involves RISK. 
 
    What if others don’t like what my hands have made?  What if my creative juices fall short? What if my crafts are a total dud? What if I don’t get hired? Or what if I’m just spinning my wheels in vain? 
   We are MADE to be creative beings- because we are MADE by a creative Heavenly Father. When we make something, take a risk, put ourselves “out there”, something happens inside of us. Something comes alive! Indeed it was as if it was how God meant it to be. To be alive, in the dreams he has given us. 
                                                   

         
                                  The game of RISK is one of my family’s favorite games 
            Often times we aren’t creative because we are afraid of failure. Failure is that which we see “snuffing-out”our  dreams and not seeing them to fruition. Or failure of making a mistake. Let me be real with you for a moment. This is the third time I’ve written this blog post. I make the mistake each time of not hitting the “save” button and losing all my work. It is discouraging, I will admit, yet pressing through makes each time I write it, better, sharper, and clearer. The post becomes more focused, and better defined with each rewrite. Failure drags us through torture to refine us, focus us, and holds us accountable. Failure forcefully gives us better definition to our dreams so that they are more efficient. 
    How much more ALIVE we would become, if we would embrace failure, and pursue creativity and risk taking? How much more “dangerous” for his Kingdom? So walk through your failure and take that risk, it WILL be worth it in the end. 

The place where God calls you is the place where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.”- Fredrick Buechner 

                      

                                        

Leave a comment